Boulevard [is one of the eight magazines] young writers and poets, of course, pay attention to...since that’s where they hope to publish their work.
— Charles Simic, The New York Review of Books

Boulevard's mission is to publish the finest in contemporary fiction and poetry as well as definitive essays on the arts and culture, and to publish a diversity of writers who exhibit an original sensibility. It is our conviction that creative and critical work should be presented in a variegated yet coherent ensemble—as a boulevard, which contains in one place the best a community has to offer. 



Founding Editor & Publisher

Richard Burgin is the author of 15 books and over a hundred songs and musical pieces. He is a five-time Pushcart Prize winner and three of his books were named 'Notable Books of the Year' by The Philadelphia Inquirer. The Times Literary Supplement named The Identity Club as one of 'The Best Books of 2006', and the title story of that book was reprinted in The Best American Mystery Stories and in The Ecco Anthology of Contemporary American Short FictionThe Huffington Post listed The Identity Club as one of the 40 best books of fiction of the decade.   


Jessica Rogen has a BA in English Literature and a BFA in Photography from Washington University in St. Louis, and she is a MFA candidate in Arts Management and Leadership at Webster University. 

Managing Editor

Dusty Freund holds a BS in Personal Financial Planning from the University of Missouri and earned his MFA from the University of Missouri-St. Louis in 2017. From 2015-2017, he was the managing editor of Natural Bridge.

Senior Editors

Glenn Blake

Edmund de Chasca has a PhD in English Language and Literature from University of Chicago. His book of literary history and criticism, John Gould Fletcher and Imagism, was published by University of Missouri Press. He has published fiction and poetry in a wide variety of magazines and anthologies.

Peter Grandbois is the author of six books including the novel Nahoonkara, winner of the Gold Medal in literary fiction in ForeWord Magazine’s Book of the Year Awards for 2011, and the short story collection Domestic Disturbances. He is a professor of creative writing and contemporary literature at Denison University in Ohio.

Edward Nobles

Publication Design

Shanie Latham

Associate Editors

William J. Cobb, Laura Kessler, Sally Van Doren

Assistant Editor

Laura Moretz

Contributing Editors

Megan Giddings, Miriam M. Kotzin, Michael Nye, Kevin Prufer, Andra Samelson, David Shapiro, Marc Watkins, Eric Miles Williamson, Andrew Weinstein


Elizabeth Alphonse, Janee J. Baugher, Gabrielle Flnagan, Danielle Gillespie, Ryan Krull, Canese Jarboe, John Kuelper, Willie Lin, Rene Martinez, Bailey Moore, Dana Sprehe, Timothy Wombles, Carolina VonKampen


Daniel Strawhun

Boulevard is made possible by the supporters of the arts: